FCS Seeds of Hope band launched

Vaione Earns License to Operate
February 3, 2021
FCS invests in Counsellors
February 3, 2021

03 December, 2020

The Fiji Corrections Service achieved a major milestone this week with the launch of its new sigidrigi band, “Seeds of Hope”, with a brand new recording album set to hit the airwaves this December.

The group which is an initiative under the Yellow Ribbon Rehabilitation through Music program sees a collaboration between serving inmates and FCS officers and personnel from the Nasinu Corrections Center.

FCS Director of Music, Principal Corrections Officer (PCO) Timoci Naiduki said they were very excited and proud to have completed their first recording to cut their album and looked forward to its release soon.

“This is an initiative that has taken a lot of work by our talented inmates and FCS personnel over the last few weeks and we are happy that a dream and vision has come to fruition,’’ said PCO Naiduki.

“The songs are originally composed by those under our care and is a reflection of their own experiences and dreams and we have thrown in some well-known covers with our own twist.”

Yesterday, the group also experienced their first TV studio recording for the popular Fiji One Sigidrigi program which airs every Friday from 9pm.

“We thank Fiji One for giving us this opportunity to be featured on their show, which is really a great boost and publicity for our band.”

Serving inmate and group member Jona Davonu said the experience was very unique and he was very happy to help pave the way for those that will be following the music program in future.

“All of us are grabbing this opportunity with both hands,’’ he said.

“We all learnt music here in Nasinu, and this experience has been really a big boost, makes us feel good about ourselves and also to sing our own songs really gives us hope.

“We thank everyone for supporting the Yellow Ribbon Program.”

The Seeds of Hope group will feature as one of the acts on the Fiji One Sigidrigi show this Friday at 9pm.

Members of the groups are; Inmates –  Jona Davonu, Epeli Bureta, Tevita Dutaboto, Josua Tuisawau

FCS Personnel  –  COC Joeli Raikanawa, TCOB Esala Suluaqalo, COC Mosese Vutikani, COC Sakiusa Matavola, TCOC Marika Gukinaivalu

error: Content is protected !!